Posted by: emapey | October 2, 2009

CCK09 – Connectivists, Do We Need The Daily Newsletter?

The Daily CCK09 connectivism course newsletter was not available to the course participants during 4 days. I wanted to know what other participants were feeling without The Daily so I started a thread in the Moodle forum, CCK09: The Daily is Down – What is the impact on the course?

These were some comments in the thread:

– James Neill – Thursday, 24 September 2009, 04:04 PM Daily Down? No problem in a world of network plasticity (aka neuroplasticity). What are we missing? Downes’ personalised collection of daily notables – he or others can and do post just as much elsewhere. Could even be seen as advantageous as other connections step up.

– luz pearson – Thursday, 24 September 2009, 06:35 PM The course is elsewhere. The Daily is great reading for breakfast: it gives you an order, makes you feel that even if you can´t participate on discussions, read posts, comments or nothing, you are still with the flow…you can still be connected. The truth is that CCK09 keeps on going. Let´s think they did it on purpose to let us get something out of this. The instructor is the network you can make?

– Maijann Ruby – Friday, 25 September 2009, 04:15 AM I thought it was very generous to provide ‘a Daily’ in the first place.

– Jane Brotchie – Friday, 25 September 2009, 06:30 AM This week the postings are noticeably fewer. Is it because the Daily is down or are people struggling with the theories or has the first flush of excitement given way to work pressures? I confess some of the theoretical arguments are way over my head so I’m struggling to find my place. I wonder how many lurkers are feeling the same? I think for those of us who are new to this way of working, any anchor point is useful. I’m a bit of a list person (sadly) and having a place where I can consider my day is useful. Come to think of it, maybe I should make my own Daily – or is that what a PLE is?

Cosimo Urbanowicz – Friday, 25 September 2009, 12:12 PM
The most useful way to think about it is to imagine that the daily is down intentionally — to provoke us to build our own! Where do you think the conversation is most visible/ active right now, beside this forum?

Eric Calvert – Friday, 25 September 2009, 02:08 PM
Nice “glass half full” way to look at the crash, Cosimo. I think maybe an unintended benefit of the way the course has been structured is that learning continues despite one of the instructors being temporarily knocked out. Had all conversation depended on Downes’ server, it would have been a catastrophic disruption (for us, I mean. I’m sure it feels like a catastrophe for Downes…) rather than a temporary inconvenience.

and Riitta Suominen also posted about this topic

Leave a Reply

Categories

