Posted by: emapey | March 29, 2009

7 Things You Don’t Know About Me Meme

Janet Clarey, Alev Elci and Nelly Cardinale tagged me for the 7 Things You Don’t Know About Me meme.

I have now no more excuses to post mine. Thank you very much for tagging me. I still remember Donald H Taylor who tagged me for my first meme. I know I am late to this meme. Sometimes I am too lazy.

7 Things You don’t Know About Me:

1- I went to the same school, the Stella Maris College (Montevideo) , as the “Old Christians” rugby team survivors of the Uruguayan Air Force Flight 571 Andes Disaster . I was then on 10th grade.

2- I visited the Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), in 1970, when I was only 15 years old and returned in a 60 feet fishing boat. It was July, winter in South America, and it took us 7 days of navigation with cold and strong winds in the South Atlantic Ocean to return back home. Crazy!

3- When I was young I spent the summers sailing with my friends in Punta del Este the best summer resort in Uruguay

4- I was not popular at school. Not good at sports. But I was an excellent student and even had a better behavior. But I was bored in class! Would have appreciated more motivation to learn

5- Since college, I appreciate libraries. Librarians usually become my friends!

6- When I was in middle school I spent time breeding homing pigeons, fun for pigeon racing. My parents believed I was wasting time with my hobby and my mother talked to the school’s principal about this issue. The school principal told my mother that she was wasting HIS time, since I was an excellent student and he would be happy if many other students also breed homing pigeons, if that hobby made them better students. So my parents never returned to the school to ask about my behavior.

7- I was the coach of several 9-10 yrs kids soccer teams when I was only 18-20 years old. It was fun!! I had to deal with the kids parents and other adults.

I have many friends to tag. I am tagging:
Sabrina De Vita
Nancy Morales
Norma Rickman
Betsyanne
Silvia Sandreoli
Jennifer Verschoor

Memes are a great way to know more about our friends and their blogs. I would like to learn more about you!!

Responses

  1. Dear Eduardo, thanks for responding. My favorite is #6 – pigeons. It is a pity, now most of our students don’t have time to spend outside in nature. Most don’t have chance to play out (as we did) and take care of animals.

  2. Wow, that trip in 1970 must have been a real adventure. Glad you made it back home ok.

    It also sounds like you have lived through many peaceful summers sailing at that resort. I also love the ocean and find it very relaxing.

    I think it was great that your school principal supported your hobby of breeding pigeons. Sounds like he was a wonderful school administrator.

    Thanks for responding to my tag and for sharing. I feel like I know you better.

  3. Alev and Nelly thank you for your comments. My school’s principal said to my mother that she was wasting his time when she went to talk about me because I was already an excellent student

    He wanted to meet the parents of students who had bad behavior in class. Those parents seem to be not interested in their son’s education and never came to meet with the school’s principal.

    I was an excellent student with pigeons or without them.

    My mother was ashamed after the meeting and she told my father she would never return to the school to talk about my behavior in class.

  4. Cuántas cosas que no sabía de vos Eduardo y que no hubiera imagiando! Sí me acordaba, porque me habías contado, de tu viaje a Malvinas. Debe haber sido toda una aventura. Al final yo también me inspiré para escribir algo sobre mi
    Te dejo un saludo grandote.
    Lorena

  5. Bored in class as a child, Eduardo? I think so many of us were! I think that is a prime reason for bad behaviour in the classroom–students aren’t challenged enough and are not encouraged to further explore areas that are of real interest to them. Not that I was a badly behaved student–I was very shy and quiet, qualities I seem to have overcome with age!

    I answered your meme tag on my blog. You can find it at:
    Back2SchoolMoms..

    Thanks again for tagging me, Eduardo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

