Posted by: emapey | September 5, 2011

POTCERT11, The True Side of Blogging

All new bloggers should be aware of:

- When the Thrill of Blogging Is Gone … – NYTimes.com

According to a 2008 survey by Technorati, which runs a search engine for blogs, only 7.4 million out of the 133 million blogs the company tracks had been updated in the past 120 days. That translates to 95 percent of blogs being essentially abandoned, left to lie fallow on the Web, where they become public remnants of a dream — or at least an ambition — unfulfilled.

- Blogs Wane as the Young Drift to Sites Like Twitter – NYTimes.com

Blogs were once the outlet of choice for people who wanted to express themselves online. But with the rise of sites like Facebook and Twitter, they are losing their allure for many people — particularly the younger generation.

- Blogging | Learner Weblog

… I have found many “fellow” bloggers slowing down in the postings in the blogs, or might have stopped blogging altogether. However, there was also an increase in some of those bloggers participating or interacting in the Facebook and Twitter during the past year.

- The loneliness of the open autonomous learner « Lisa’s (Online) Teaching Blog

If the drive toward social online connections tells us anything, it tells us that people want to be both autonomous and recognized. We want our own profiles, our own apps, but to be part of a network of friends or colleagues. Contributions must be more than acknowledged; they must be appreciated. It is very lonely to post hundreds of tweets or updates, and have no one respond. In online classes, one may post the required number of times in a forum, but have no one reply while others are engaged in conversation.

- Leigh Blackall: What am I doing!?

As far as the education related posts go, it is slightly disappointing to see that so many posts I consider to be important, don’t even rate on the charts (“he refers to stats of his blog”). This sense of disappointment existed long before looking at the stats mind you.

- Can Blog Commenting Survive the Twitter and Tumblr Assault? | Read React Review

A year ago, I wondered if Twitter would cause people to blog less. I am not sure whether it has. Although I can certainly name some bloggers who seem more productive on Twitter than on their own blogs, there are new blogs springing up all the time.

Today, I wonder whether the main effect of twitter has been on blog comments.

#Change11 Is blogging on the decline? | Learner Weblog

My observation was that many bloggers in the past few years have slowed down in blogging, and have shifted to Twitter, Facebook and Google + in the posting of links. Besides the number of blogs posted have decreased significantly as bloggers found it hard to keep their blogs updated with posts, and that not too many readers were willing to provide comments as part of the conversation.

Responses

  1. Interesting! I don’t give much weight to the survey by Technorati done in 2008. There have been lots of changes/improvements to blogs & blogging. Those non-users were the pioneers who were still trying to figure it out. (The problem with surveys today is that they are extinct before you can finish analyzing the data!)

    I took a class at Cal State in 1991 where my Communication professor required us to find our syllabus & most of our assignments on the Internet. We used dial up with something called “kermit” (not to mention our antiquated computers!) to search through the boring word-filled black & white content that existed at that time. Much of our class discussion centered around what we thought was going to happen with the Internet. We made wild predictions about someday being able to hop down to a corner shop where you could dial up really fast. We discussed whether we thought the Internet was going to cause people to isolate & destroy interpersonal communication. That was only 20 years ago & it seems like ancient history. In fact, 2008 seems like ancient history as technology goes.

    Thanks for interesting post!

  2. It is my own experience that many edublogs from friends were abandoned.. The same happened to comments. I didn’t need surveys because I saw it myself but I wanted to post some references.

    I am not trying to be negative. I have never posted so much as in the last few days!!! If there are few bloggers it means less competition.

    I just wanted to alert new edubloggers about these facts

  3. I gave a survey to my students in class and found out that not many students use email or have email accounts. I think I was the only one. Twitter and Facebook were their main tools for communication. Now that I am updating my skills to using blogs I hope I am technologically able to keep up with students.

  4. This article rings a bit of truth for me. I have been blogging since 2006 and even more regularly since 2008. Every morning I began my day with a fresh photo and a post and loved the experience. I participated in writing marathons with Two Writing Teachers in a Slice of Life March marathon, writing and sharing with a large group of teacher bloggers. Even today I share a Slice of Life on Tuesdays. But one day I woke up and didn’t write and I continued that for months.
    I didn’t think about this but I do read and comment on Facebook with friends and more professionally on Twitter and there was my morning. I wanted to return to my blog but I didn’t. I found http://www.750words.com and that daily experience is getting me going again.
    I never blogged to get rich. I never blogged to get a lot of readers but it is nice to be a part of an online community of writers and comments, thoughtful comments are wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

