Posted by: emapey | July 19, 2008

Using Del.icio.us in Education

I think that Del.icio.us is one of the most useful Web 2.0 tools. It facilitates:
– saving and accessing your bookmarks online
– promoting your own sites (you bookmark in Del.icio.us your best pages, don’t you?)
– finding bookmarks from other users on your network (they are searching for relevant sites for you)
– networking with other users who are in your network.
– reading your network’s bookmarks, since Del.icio.us provides convenient RSS feeds.
– use a “profile” tag, such as emapey’s bookmarks tagged with “profile” on del.icio.us to feature your sites, best posts and articles and important sites linking to you.

List of useful links to resources for using Del.icio.us:

- Del.icio.us help
Use Del.icio.us to Create Your Eportfolio
The Del.icio.us Lesson – Bokardo
Del.icio.us Is The Recommendation Service For The Internet
Know When People Bookmark You on Del.icio.us
Tracking My Own Published Articles
How to Analyze your Site with Del.icio.us
Who Says Librarians (and Teachers) Don’t Like Tags
“Interview With Experts: What’s so cool about del.icio.us?”
Social Bookmarking with del.icio.us
del.icio.us as a PR measurement tool
Tips for Using Delicious In (Doctoral) Research
del.icio.us libraries
A discussion of strategies for managing social bookmarking teaching and learning activities (using del.icio.us)
How Delicious is Changing Academic Research
Visualizing Del.icio.us Networks
del.icio.us Tips, Part-2: day-to-day use
A reputation economy via “via:”?
Del.icio.us Network Explorer

You can start building your del.icio.us network. Join the EdTechTalk Del.icio.us network. You can also continue networking by joining some fans in the del.icio.us/network/edtechtalk

These are my emapey’s bookmarks on del.icio.us
These are my emapey’s del.icio.us network bookmarks
Note how via “My Network”, I now have a stream of bookmarks from some Del.icio.us users I have selected. These users are searching the internet and bookmarking useful sites and pages for me !!!!!

I want to credit my friend FCEBLOG for some of the ideas included in this post.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the link. Diigo is really my primary bookmarking tool, but I keep everything in del.icio.us too. Diigo has some better options for sharing links with groups and friends; you can share links with just part of your network, for example.

    Del.icio.us still has a much bigger user base and network though. I use it now to search what other people have bookmarked on a topic. I usually start my search on Diigo, but if I can’t find what I need there, I switch to del.icio.us. Both are good services, just for different tasks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

